Eight schools from Wisconsin win national award for closing achievement gaps

From the Department of Public Instruction

State Superintendent Tony Evers congratulated eight public elementary schools from Wisconsin that were among 329 schools nationwide recognized by the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. Schools are chosen for the award based on overall academic excellence or progress in closing achievement gaps among subgroups of students.

Evers nominated the eight public schools earlier this year. They are:

  • Addison Elementary School in Hartford, Slinger School District;
  • Halmstad Elementary School, Chippewa Falls Area Unified School District;
  • Marengo Valley Elementary School, Ashland School District;
  • Muskego Elementary School, Muskego-Norway School District;
  • Oconto Falls Elementary School, Oconto Falls Public School District;
  • Swallow Elementary School in Hartland, Swallow School District;
  • Wilson Elementary School, Beaver Dam Unified School District; and
  • Woodland Elementary School, Barron Area School District.

“Nationwide, only a few schools earn the Blue Ribbon honor,” Evers said in commending the schools. “Every day, these schools build a foundation for their students to graduate ready for college and careers. Congratulations to the teachers, students, school administrators and staff members, as well as the parents and communities that support their efforts.”

Seven of Wisconsin’s schools were honored in the “Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing” category. One school — Muskego Elementary — was recognized as an “Exemplary High Performing School.”

Now in its 34th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has recognized nearly 8,500 schools. The 2016 cohort represent public and non-public elementary, middle, and high schools, including traditional, charter, magnet schools, parochial, and independent schools in 42 states, the District of Colombia, and Department of Defense Education Activity schools in Fort Benning, Georgia; Ramstein, Germany; and Seoul, Korea. On November 7 and 8, the U.S. Department of Education will formally recognize the 279 public and 50 private schools at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.